Metroid Dread Wins 2021 Golden Joystick Nintendo Game Of The Year

Metroid Dread Wins 2021 Golden Joystick Nintendo Game Of The Year

Yesterday, the 39th Golden Joystick Awards presentation was held on Youtube and Twitch, doubling up as a celebration of 50 years of gaming.

This year, the show featured 20 categories of awards voted for by the public, as well as 2 categories handled by critics. Among these awards, Metroid Dread took home the title of Nintendo Game of the Year, while Dark Souls was crowned the Ultimate Game Of All Time.

The full list of awards and winners can be found below:

  • Best Storytelling: Life is Strange: True Colors
  • Best Multiplayer Game: It Takes Two
  • Best Audio: Resident Evil: Village
  • Best Visual Design: Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart
  • Best Game Expansion: Ghost of Tsushima: Iki Island
  • Mobile Game of the Year: League of Legends: Wild Rift
  • Best Gaming Hardware: PlayStation 5
  • Best Indie Game: Death’s Door
  • Studio of the Year: Capcom
  • Best Performer: Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu in Resident Evil: Village)
  • Breakthrough Award: Housemarque (critically chosen)
  • Best Game Community: Final Fantasy XIV
  • Still Playing Award: Final Fantasy XIV
  • PC Game of the Year: Hitman 3
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Metroid Dread
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Psychonauts 2
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: Resident Evil: Village
  • Most Wanted Game: Elden Ring
  • Critics’ Choice Award: Deathloop (critically chosen)
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Resident Evil: Village
  • Best Gaming Hardware of All Time: Personal Computer (PC)
  • Ultimate Game of All Time: Dark Souls

Although first party Nintendo games did not win any other awards this year, Metroid Dread being chosen as Nintendo Game of the Year is quite the achievement for a franchise that has been struggling to get back on its feet in recent years. Hopefully, this is another sign of good things to come for the series in the future.

What do you think? Let us know in the comments.